Caramel Oatmeal Raisin Bars

These bars are like Little Debbie oatmeal sandwich cookies gone wild. Like if Little Debbie got a sexy, cool makeover it would be these bars. They are comprised of oatmeal raisin cookie bars, stuffed with marshmallow fluff and caramel. Pretty sexy am I right?

Making this again I would make a bunch of changes. I would add toasted candied pecans to the cookie base to start off with. I also might use another cookie base. These bars are slightly more crunchy and not as undercooked soft as the Little Debbies I modeled them after. I would also use much more caramel, which I was unable to because my CVS is incompetent. And Safeway doesn’t exist near me. Really a crime I know. Anyways, those are the changes I plan on making next time I bake  (which will hopefully be soon).

In the mean time, although they weren’t as dreamy as I had intended them to be they were pretty damn good. The fluff and caramel melted into the cookie base creating a soft chewy texture. And the raisins grew pump and flavorful in the oven- pretty delicious. So go ahead and make the changes yourself or stick to the original, either way I hope you enjoy!

Caramel Oatmeal Raisin Bars

2 cups flour

2 cups rolled oats

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 TPS baking soda

1/2 TPS salt

2 TPS cinnamon

1 TSP vanilla

1 cup butter

1 1/2 cup raisins

Filling

2 cups marshmallow fluff

3 oz chewy caramel candies

1 TBS butter

1/4 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix flour, oats, sugar, baking soda, salt,  cinnamon and vanilla together. Soften butter and cut into the flour mixture, creating a crumbly texture. Press half the mixture into the pan. Spread the marshmallow fluff over the cookie bars. In the mean time melt the 1 TBS in a sauce pan over medium- low heat. Once melted add the caramel and milk. After the caramel melts pour over the fluff. Cover this layer with the remainder of the cookie base, creating a thick layer of crumbs.

Bake for 25 minutes. Let cool before slicing. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sweets

Leave a Reply

