Pumpkin Cream Pie

With Hurricane Sandy canceling two days of school this week (without ever losing power) I have had plenty of time to do some fall baking this week. I definitely over estimated the amount of room people would save for dessert, especially with spiked cider filling their stomachs. Thus, I had plenty of pumpkin pie dip left over after my dinner party, with very few squirrel chips.

Naturally I wanted to make something different and settled on a pumpkin cream pie with Oreo crust. Chocolate and pumpkin are a match made in heaven and nothing beats an Oreo crust.

So I ground a package of Oreos in my magic bullet (kind of a long process because that thing is pretty damn small). And whipped up a small carton of whipping cream with 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. I folded the whipping cream into the pumpkin pie dip and poured it all over the Oreo crust. Then I decided to get a little bit fancy with it and swirled in some cinnamon.

This dessert is pretty heavenly, and great for people who don’t love pumpkin pie, because the flavor is a lot less dense. Definitely consider adding it to your fall baking list!

Also I hope you all have a great Halloween today! And I hope for the sake of the kids in your neighborhood that you aren’t one of the houses handing out boxes of raisins or pretzels… If you are having trouble deciding what to give out I’d recommend king size candy bars.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sweets

Leave a Reply

