Pear Gingerbread Upside Down Cake

DSC_0309_2

Pineapple upside down cake is my favorite dessert in the world, and has been since as long as I can remember. When I was a little girl my mom used to make it every year for my birthday. A couple of years ago I told my boyfriend this and he searched endlessly for a restaurant that served this specific cake. Unfortunately the one he found was out that day… he still earned major points for looking though.

This year I found out that my birthday actually falls on national pineapple upside down cake day! I think this was one of the best realizations of my life. (If you follow me on twitter you might remember my incessant tweets from the day I discovered this miracle). I called everyone in my family actually. I mean, what are the chances??

Anyways I wanted to make a holiday version this year and settled on pear gingerbread upside down cake. This combination is delicious. Not overly sweet, and with plenty of fragrant spices. I love upside down cakes because they are so incredibly moist. The brown sugar, butter and pear juice drip down from the top and keep the cake from getting dry. Definitely something to add to your holiday dinner table!

DSC_0324_2

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Sweets

Leave a Reply

