French Silk Pie

DSC_0685

 

DSC_0684

As of lately I’ve been desperately missing France.  I miss the beautiful patesseries filled with more Madeleines then you could dream of and Sunday falafel trips. I even miss the questionabley smelling metro cars (looking at you RER B) and the crowds of tourists outside of Notre Dame.

The best part about being back is that I can finally cook everything I ate (although I will not be trying to recreate our drunken gyro experiences). This week I made French silk pies. Although this isn’t a French dessert, I wanted to try out the miniature spring form pans I got at Dehillerin. Dehillerin was Julia Child’s favorite kitchen store in Paris, and hasn’t changed an ounce since she was last there.

Dehillerin is famous in part because they don’t post the prices on the items. Instead you have to look up the bar code in huge books. This detered me from checking the cost, and before I knew it I was 50 euros deep in miniature pie tins. Pretty good strategy to make bank on people too lazy to flip through a catelog.

Anyways back to the pie. This pie is indulgent, fairly simple and (depending on the sweet tooth of your guests) a crowd pleaser. It was also the perfect way to try out my spring form pans. I’m pretty sure miniature baked goods are on the level of puppies or babies, cuteness wise. DSC_0692

DSC_0686

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

