Grape Fruit Upside Down Cake

DSC_0766

One of the best desserts I’ve ever had was at the Getty Museum in Los Angles. I had it when I was 16, taking a break from touring colleges with my mom. I can tell you nothing about the art exhibits (or even about the schools I had been visiting..) but I can remember everything about the desserts we had. Good thing my parents spent so much money on the trip.

DSC_0770

I remember spending a long time deciding between the grapefruit upside down cake and the chocolate pot de creme, probably longer in fact, than I spent deciding which college to actually attend… My mother has been talking about this upside cake ever since and I decided to make it for her birthday when I visited Denver in early June. Shelly has a very mild sweet tooth- forcing me to question if we are in fact legitimately blood related- and so this cake was perfect. Subtly sweet, and terrifically tart, it almost measured up to the Getty version itself. Find the recipe here: http://foodonfifth.com/2013/02/18/a-ruby-red-rio-star-grapefruit-upside-down-cake-for-dark-february-days/

3 Comments

Filed under Sweets

3 responses to “Grape Fruit Upside Down Cake

  1. Ema Jones

    I love Grape Fruit and peaches
    I made Peach Cake for my mom on Mother’s Day
    You too try..
    http://bit.ly/1mO0ffO

  2. Love your bakes! Keep the creations coming! =D

  3. Thanks so much for the shout out! I am so happy you liked my cake and recipe. Yours looks pretty yummy as well. Again thanks.

Leave a Reply

